Weekend distractions part 2

13 Oct

I recently went on an unplanned shopping spree at Periplus sometime last week. Bought a few books which were marked down but still relatively pricey. Since I can’t really get away with hoarding books without reading them (or can I?), I’ve started with Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Marriage Plot.

20121013-222431.jpg

The first few pages felt unbearably pretentious, but I guess the author’s choice of using the Talking Heads’ “Once in a Lifetime” in the epigraph gave me reason to press on. (I’m a sucker for this kind of thing.) But it’s really entertaining and I’m enjoying it so far. I can’t put it down, honestly. Lit crit, spirituality, books, longing (and because I cannot avoid spoilers when reading reviews) mental illness… good stuff, right?

Shuffle is being awesome tonight. My room is nice and cool. This bed is too comfortable. Too bad this weekend won’t last as long as I want it to.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

