Birthdays and emergency vet visits

21 Jun

I’m back home for a week. Midway through my holiday, this is the second time I’ve gone to the vet’s clinic. Sunday I had to take Blitchy because she had cloudy eyes. Turns out it was an infection and her kidney function is still the same, which is not optimal. She may have to be on a special diet for the rest of her life. She’s 4 now.Today, I had to take Twisty (David Bowie didn’t stick) there. Last night he became lethargic, and we were pretty sure he wouldn’t make it through the night (there are no emergency pet hospitals here). Well, he did, so I took him first thing in the morning. No breakfast, no bath. He was still very weak. Had him hooked up to an IV drip, and his CBC showed that he is severely anemic and has an infection. Yellow inside the ears? It could be his kidneys. They called up a blood donor cat for emergency blood transfusion. This big guy here is a hero.I always have a bad feeling about birthdays and cats getting sick. A few years ago, Maru died on my birthday. He was away for a few days and then showed up weak and just lying on the same patch of ground. We moved him but he always returned there. I didn’t take him to the vet. That evening, we placed him inside the house. Then with his last strength, he went back to that spot, and died. It was my fault, I know. So now when it happens again, and today is my mom’s birthday. I have a bad feeling about this. But let’s hope for the best.

Leave a comment