Day 1. Frankfurt and Offenbach

6 Jun

Flying Singapore Airlines practically spoils everything for me. I was on one on my Jakarta – Singapore flight, and it was easily the best airline experience I’ve had so far. They also had the classiest flight safety information video ever. So when I got on a Lufthansa for the Singapore – Frankfurt flight, I was kinda overwhelmed. I mean, Lufthansa is not bad, but Singapore Airlines is just too good. Too bad though, I will not be able to afford it for long-haul flights lol.

It was a very long walk from the plane to the immigration. When I got there I was a little nervous, and was asked pretty much the standard questions. “What is your destination?” to which I reply, sheepishly, “Germany?” I mean… lol. And then the guy asked for hotel booking, and onward flight ticket. All standard, right? Right?

So, anyway, I got through, got my luggage, and met J at the arrival area. Pretty unreal, eh, him waiting for me at the airport instead of the other way around. A first in the six years we’ve been together lol. Anyway we went and I withdrew cash from a random ATM, where the rates are not bad at all, and then got on the train, where, I finally realize what a spoiled Asian princess I have been. Lol. I look at the things I took for granted, like air conditioning in the train or basically anywhere, ride hails, bidets and yeah, can’t see it here. And then we walked. And walked. And walked some more around the neighborhood and towards the River Main. I told J that he should have taken it easy with me. After all, with Jakarta and Semarang not having pedestrian-friendly streets, I don’t really walk anywhere and just take the convenience of a Grab or Go Car ride. The walking was too much, but admittedly something that I need to get used to. My legs are sore, but yeah, will have more of that again tomorrow, I guess.

The summer days here are long. We had dinner with J’s landlady W outside, where there is still light at 8.00 PM.

W has a dog, Nick, and we’ve been fast friends. He likes playing fetch endlessly, until he has to be commanded to take a break. I thought I was special, but then I was told that he is like that to everyone. Thanks, Nicky. Lol.

So sleepy right now. It is only half past 10, but then in Indonesia it is already 3 AM. Is this the so-called jet lag? I don’t really know.

Leave a comment